Jobs in NATO - OTAN

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization or simply NATO is the political and military alliance among the countries of the North Atlantic. Its purpose is to organize the defense of its members against a possible attack of any countries which do not belong to the organization. NATO’s principle of collect defense is: “An attack against one or several members is considered as an attack against all”. However, they look pacific ways to solve the problem before actually attacking.

NATO was found in 1949, with only 12 members: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom and the United States. Some years later, in 1952 more countries joined it, being the last one in 2009. Nowadays, 28 countries are members of NATO, besides the previously mentioned we have, Greece, Turkey, Germany, Spain, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Rumania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Albania and Croatia.

NATO’s headquarters are located in Brussels, Belgium. Each member of the organization has a delegation in the headquarters to represent them. These delegations are permanent and take political and administrative decisions, they meet at least once a week to take decision about the problems the Alliance is facing and to look for the best solutions for them. The work of these delegations is supported by NATO’s International Staff and International Military Staff; they also meet at the headquarters building.

There are others divisions, offices, agencies, etc in the NATO’s structure and each one of them works in a specific area.

Organization website:
English code: NATO
Spanish code: OTAN